Haus der Stiftungen in NRW


The large assembly room in the Haus der Stiftungen in NRW in the Derendorf region of Düsseldorfer Stadtteil is now named after Johannes Rau. In a dedication ceremony on 7th March Christina Kampmann as Minister for the Family, Children, Youth, Culture and Sport for the State of North Rhine-Westphalia, Dr. Fritz Behrens as President of Kunststiftung NRW and Harry K. Voigtsberger as President of the NRW-Stiftung recalled the visionary cultural policy of this tenacious advocate of a politics based on the concept of solidarity and the desire for reconciliation in the presence of Christina Rau and numerous guests from the fields of politics, economics and culture.



Pictured (from left to right): President of the NRW-Stiftung, Harry K. Voigtsberger, Minister Christina Kampmann, Dr. Ursula Sinnreich, General Secretary of Kunststiftung NRW, Christina Rau, President of the Kunststiftung Dr. Fritz Behrens, President of the State Parliament Carina Gödecke and Managing Director of the NRW-Stiftung, Martina Grote | Photo: Melanie Stegemann


“Naming this assembly hall after Johannes Rau makes emphasises once more the enduring legacy he has left behind him in North Rhine-Westphalia,” said Christina Kampmann in her laudation in the newly restored hall of the listed building which was once a casino for officers. “No-one else in politics had such a strong influence on our region over such a long time as he did. His legacy lives on.” This also applies to the Kunststiftung.


The President of Kunststiftung NRW, Dr. Fritz Behrens, referred to the political vision which underpinned the foundation of Kunststiftung NRW along with the NRW-Stiftung and other foundations – such as the Künstlerdorf Schöppingen for example. “Strengthening solidarity and bolstering identity through art and culture” as Johannes Rau’s declared objective in founding these funding bodies in the 1980s which he would continue to support as a committee member for many years. This objective could not be more relevant at a time when many new people are making their way to North Rhine-Westphalia.


To encourage artists to take new paths, to promote artistic achievement of the highest quality and stimulate creative daring, to make the results understood and to place it in the centre of society – these duties of Kunststiftung NRW along with the NRW-Stiftung’s work for nature and the environment provide an essential, fruitful and stable basis for communal life influenced by liberality and tolerance.


Johannes Rau was born in Wuppertal in 1931. He was Minister President of North Rhine-Westphalia from 1978 to 1998. His motto for his time in government was “reconciliation rather than division.” He was elected Federal President of Germany in1999 and served in this office until 2004. Johannes Rau dies in Berlin on 27th January 2006.


In 1986 Johannes Rau initiated the foundation of the NRW-Stiftung for the Preservation of Nature, the Environment and Culture. This was followed in 1989 by the foundation of the State of NRW’s Foundation of Arts and Culture – now known as Kunststiftung NRW. In the same year Künstlerdorf Schöppingen and the NRW State Music Academy in Heek were also launched as charitable foundations.

Haus der Stiftungen in NRW


Der Große Sitzungssaal im Haus der Stiftungen in NRW im Düsseldorfer Stadtteil Derendorf trägt nun den Namen von Johannes Rau. In einer Feierstunde am 7. März 2016 erinnerten Christina Kampmann, Ministerin für Familie, Kinder, Jugend, Kultur und Sport des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen, Dr. Fritz Behrens als Präsident der Kunststiftung NRW und Harry K. Voigtsberger als Präsident der NRW-Stiftung in Anwesenheit von Christina Rau sowie zahlreichen Gästen aus Politik, Wirtschaft und Kultur an die visionäre Kulturpolitik des engagierten Verfechters einer von dem Solidaritätsgedanken und dem Versöhnungswillen getragenen Politik.



Im Bild (v.l.n.r.): Der Präsident der NRW-Stiftung, Harry K. Voigtsberger, Ministerin Christina Kampmann, Dr. Ursula Sinnreich, Generalsekretärin der Kunststiftung NRW, Christina Rau, der Präsident der Kunststiftung, Dr. Fritz Behrens, Landtagspräsidentin Carina Gödecke und die Geschäftsführerin der NRW-Stiftung, Martina Grote | Foto: Melanie Stegemann


„Die Benennung des Sitzungssaales nach Johannes Rau macht einmal mehr deutlich, welche bleibenden Spuren er als Ministerpräsident in Nordrhein-Westfalen hinterlassen hat“, sagte Christina Kampmann in ihrer Festrede im frisch restaurierten Saal des denkmalgeschützten früheren Offizierskasinos. „Es gibt keine politische Persönlichkeit, die unser Land über einen so langen Zeitraum so stark geprägt hat wie er. Sein Erbe ist weiter lebendig.“ Dies gelte auch für den Bereich der Stiftungen.


Der Präsident der Kunststiftung NRW, Dr. Fritz Behrens, verwies auf die politische Vision, die der Gründung der Kunststiftung NRW wie der NRW-Stiftung, aber auch anderer Stiftungen – wie zum Beispiel der des Künstlerdorfes Schöppingen – zu Grunde lag. „Zusammenhalt stärken und Identität stiften durch Kunst und Kultur“ war das erklärte Leitziel der von Johannes Rau in den 1980er Jahren gegründeten Fördereinrichtungen, die er selbst lange Jahre in der Gremienarbeit engagiert begleitete. Ein Ziel, das zu einem Zeitpunkt, an dem viele neue Menschen nach Nordrhein-Westfalen strömen, aktueller nicht sein könnte.


Künstler ermutigen, neue Wege zu gehen, künstlerische Höchstleistungen zu fördern und zum kreativen Wagnis herausfordern, das so Entstehende verständlich zu machen und es in die Mitte der Gesellschaft zu tragen - diese Aufgaben der Kunststiftung NRW bilden ebenso wie die Arbeit für Natur und Heimat der NRW-Stiftung eine unverzichtbare, fruchtbare und stabile Basis für ein von Weltoffenheit und Toleranz geprägtes Zusammenleben.


Johannes Rau wurde 1931 in Wuppertal geboren. Er war von 1978 bis 1998 Ministerpräsident des Landes Nordrhein-Westfallen. Seine Regierungszeit stellte er unter das Motto „Versöhnen statt spalten“. 1999 wurde es zum Bundespräsidenten der Bundesrepublik Deutschland gewählt. Dieses Amt hatte er bis 2004 inne. Johannes Rau verstarb am 27. Januar 2006 in Berlin.


1986 initiierte Johannes Rau die Gründung der Nordrhein-Westfalen-Stiftung Naturschutz, Heimat- und Kulturpflege, 1989 folgte die Gründung der Stiftung Kunst und Kultur des Landes NRW – heute Kunststiftung NRW. Im selben Jahr wurden das Künstlerdorf Schöppingen und die Landesmusikakademie NRW in Heek ebenfalls als Stiftungen gegründet.